This week, the boys review the first volume of Frank Barbiere and Victor Santos' pulp-infused crime comic, Violent Love. A meditation on violence set in the early 1970s of the American Southwest, Barbiere and Santos' tale is packed with unexpected twists and turns as the carnage continues to escalate. Listen to what Sam and Jake thought of it!

Violent Love is out in comic book shops everywhere and on Comixology on Wednesday, May 24!

Direct download: BookClub68.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

Sam and Jake review Mayday, the first volume in Alex de Campi and Tony Parker's Codename: Felix series! A Cold War espionage story following two young Soviet agents undercover in California in the early 1970s, de Campi and Parker's tale is filled with an uncanny eye for detail for the period and with all manner of sex, drugs, and rock and roll! Listen to what the boys think of it!

Mayday is out in comic book stores everywhere and on Comixology on Wednesday, May 24!

Direct download: BookClub65.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

About this time last year, the boys reviewed the first volume of the award-winning Pop Gun War by Farel Dalrymple and now the gang is reviewing the second volume this time around! A jam session exploring past, present, and future with the return of familiar faces across Dalrymple's bibliography, listen to that the boys think of this sophomore volume.

Pop Gun War: Chain Letter is out in comic books stores everywhere on Wednesday, June 14!

Direct download: BookClub64.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:09pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, Sam and Jake talk about the first volume of Rockstars by Joe Harris and Megan Hutchison, Nativity in Blacklight! A celebration of the golden age of rock and roll in the 1970s along with its dark secrets and urban legends, this volume collects the series' first five issues! Listen what the boys think of it and what makes the 1970s so well-suited for rock and roll!

Rockstars: Nativity in Blacklight is out in comic book stores everywhere and on Comixology on Wednesday, June 14!

Direct download: BookClub63.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 6:11pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, the boys talk about Street Angel: After School Kung Fu Special by Eisner Award-winning comic creator Jim Rugg! The popular indie comic comes to Image in a cool deluxe edition hardcover with the skateboarding, martial arts (mis)adventures of Jess "Street Angel" Sanchez now rendered in gorgeous, vibrant color by Rugg himself! Listen to what the boys think of it!

Street Angel: After School Kung Fu Special is out in comic shops everywhere on Wednesday, April 26!

Direct download: BookClub62.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, the boys talk about Regression, the new Image Comics series from Cullen Bunn, Danny Luckert, and Marie Enger! A creeping, surreal horror story delving into the world of past lives and hypnotic regression; this horror series marks the Image debut for the creative team! Listen to what Jake and Sam think of it!

Regression is out in comic book shops everywhere and on Comixology on Wednesday, May 10! 

Direct download: BookClub61.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, the boys talk about the debut issue of Rose by Meredith Finch and Ig Guara! Fresh off Wonder Woman, Meredith makes her debut with Image Comics with this new series which is a love letter to the fantasy genre as a young woman finds her own inner strength and abilities as she comes of age. Listen to what the gang thinks of it!

Rose is out in comic shops everywhere and on Comixology on Wednesday, April 12!

Direct download: BookClub60.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, the boys review Arclight by Brandon Graham and Marian Churchland! Originally printed in the anthology magazine, Island, Arclight is a fully formed science fiction-fantasy tale in the tradition of Frank Herbert and Heavy Metal with a imaginatively realized world complete with otherworldly landscapes, aliens, and blood magic!

Arclight is available in comic shops and bookstores everywhere and on Comixology!

Direct download: BookClub58.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, the boys discuss the debut issue of Rock Candy Mountain by Kyle Starks! A rollicking romp, the new Image Comics series follow hobos riding the rails across the United States and getting into all manner of brawls. Listen what Sam and Jake think of the first issue and their favorite word for "fight"! Stay tuned for an interview with Kyle Starks about the book!

Rock Candy Mountain debuts on Wednesday, April 5 in comic book shops everywhere and on Comixology!

Direct download: BookClub57.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

This week, Sam and Jake talk about the latest issue of Zack Kaplan and Giovanni Timpano's sci fi thriller series Eclipse with the second story arc kicking off in its fifth issue! Listen as the duo talk about the series and its new colorist, Flavio Dispenza!

Eclipse #5 is available in comic book stores and Comixology now!

Direct download: BookClub56.mp3
Category:Book Club -- posted at: 12:00pm EDT
Comments[0]

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » 7